Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
APE

Hello and a query about overnight fishing

I've been angling for the last 10 years and tried every style of angling that I've had the opportunity to with the exception of one. Overnight carping. I have most of the kit I would need (bivvy, barrow, cooking gear, etc) but have no camping experience or overnight fishing experience. Does anyone have any useful tips for a rookie wanting to get out and spend more than just a day fishing?

Hello mate welcome to the forum . Theres a blinding thread or two on here somewhere that'll help you a lot .

Use the search facility for starters . You'll get plenty of help on here but right now i need my beauty sleep :)

APE, welcome amongst us. May I ask why you've never done overnighters before, since you obviously have the required kit? Happy to help/offer advice but  a broader picture may help me.

Ian

What are your specific concerns? Ive spent my professional life living under the stars in what few items i can carry on my back. Night fishing is nothing to be scared of, just an adjustment of attitude, there are so many aspects to nighting it, it would help to ascertain your area of questioning.

:rolleyes:

I've not tried it yet as even though I have most of the kit I just haven't had the opportunity to get out for a full weekend. Things have changed a bit recently and I now find myself in a position where it's a real possibility. I think my main concern is over safety while fishing and for myself. I would be fishing alone. Thanks.

Hi APE, the first thing to look for is a secure fishery, especially as you will be on your own.Look for somewhere that has a lock-in set up, with a baliff on call should you need assistance. Where in the country are you?

Welcome to Carp.com