Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Hi all, I took up carp fishing around Bristol/Somerset after a 35 year lay off from general fishing when I retired 2 years ago, I've been lucky and had a few good carp but I have found it hard to get to grips with a few bits and pieces one of which is spod/spomb. I have 20ib ( floating ) braid line on the reel and a 4.5 Tc rod that a mate gave me; I attempted it on Tue's and cracked of twice ( felt a right narna ) I was clipped up; do I need a shock leader and if so what leader should I use?

I could do with a bit of help. Thanks John. :oops:

Tbh im no expert on spodding but yes i believe you will need a shockleader .

Someone who knows more will be along soon :)

Welcome to the sanitarium by the way :)

wow, cracked off 20lb braid :shock:  you must be built like arnie with an attitude like chuck norris :lol:

i presume you have a marker float or other feature that you are chucking your spom at? If, as you feel the pull of the line as it hits the clip just dip the tip of the rod a smidgin and it will soften the blow. thereby hopefully ending the crack offs :wink:

if you find that your overcasting by dipping the rod just unclip whilst cast out, reel in a couple turns clip up again and your good to go

If arnie is short fat and bald then yes, if not no.  I think I dipped the rod but maybe I didn't; I did wait for it to hit the clip that's when it cracked off, it was only around 50-60 yards. I have to use a far bank marker and bank sticks as I don't have a spare rod for a marker float.

Short distance 50-60 yards the lake wasn't very big; I clipped up the distance from a bare lead and used distance sticks to clip up the distance I think I dipped the rod but can't be sure know.