Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Hi, I'm new to carp fishing and was wondering if there were any places that I may be able to get help or lessons with my casting? I would like to be more accurate and be able to feather the cast to feel the bottom.

I live in Dorset,

If anyone could help or point me in the right direction it would be gratefully received.

Many thanks

AndyH

Welcome to the forum. .... cm he doesn't mention long distance just that he needs to learn the technique for feathering & feeling down the lead .

You can teach Yourself this at your local water , cast out slow the line down with your first finger then trap the line on the spool just before it hits the water , keep the line trapped as the lead sinks rod up and try and feel the lead hit the bottom .

Just takes a bit of practice as you progress your probably find you start to lower the rod to match the sink rate of the lead , this will reduce the arc back of the lead towards you.

Like most things the more you do it the better you will become .

Welcome to Carp.com.

I have moved this into New to Carp.com, so hopefully you get a good welcome from everyone on here.

Casting and feathering is a skill you can teach yourself, although casting lessons can help to get rid of any bad habits you may have picked up.

Here are my basic tips for casting, and I know I probably have a few bad habits.

In your swim, for each spot find yourself a 'launch pad', back from the edge of the swim so you don't overbalance and take yourself head first into the drink.

I am right handed, so I put my left foot slightly forward facing where I am casting to. My right foot is back but still facing forward. This should give you a good casting 'platform' for accuracy and distance.