Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
stamfordchris

BAIT ADVICE PLEASE! IM A NEWBIE

ok.... new to carp fishing, always used to go for tench and bream but now ive decided im after carp and nothing else. its just a much better world of fishing. anyway, ive stocked up on fresh tackle, got some new rods and reels, tons of hooks and mono etc all kind of carp tackle for various occasions. now- my local lake which is basically a carp lake has a "no boilies" rule. boilies are probably the main choice of bait for chod rigs etc arent they? so if im not allowed to take boilies, what do people reccommend in terms of bait or even rigs. a zig rig with foam?? the lake in general isnt deep probably only up to 8ft or so in places

boilies are probably the main choice of bait for chod rigs etc arent they?

At good mate of mine has caught a lot of big fish using artificial baits on chods, foam or plastic so don't let the lack of using a pop up put you off using the rig .

Welcome to the forum 8)

What have you been using for the tench and bream ... it will work for the carp to  :wink:

You might want to look at hook bait choice, are nuts banned  :?: , look at something like arma mesh and making particle hookbaits, as for zigs its all about adding strings to your bow if a situation arises you can deploy something that get you that bite so definitely look at them as an option.  

Oh and welcome to the forum  8)

Edited by hutch

Alternatives to boilies for the chod rig.... 1) glugged cork ball

2) previously mentioned synthetic baits(plastic) corn in varying colours/ Dumbbells in varying colours and flavours/ foam

3) a combination of real corn and foam

All of the above should still give you the popped up effect for use on the chod.

Cm what's the presentation like on a combo and bag in weed?