Content: Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Background: Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Pattern: Blank Waves Notes Sharp Wood Rockface Leather Honey Vertical Triangles
Welcome to Carp.com Fishing Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

neenon

what to look for when choosing a swim

11 posts in this topic

Hello all. I am new to carp fishing (I have a fair bit of experience fly fishing and general coarse). Just starting to fish a small lake with a reasonable head of fish mostly mid doubles. I have walked the lake a few times and used a marker float/lead on a couple of swims. There are lots of fishy looking areas (pads, loads of weed) but I have never seen fish fizzing, rolling etc. Do you have any advice on how to pick a swim for my first session?

I'd definitely cast to fish.... If distance allows flick a small lead out and see what your fishing over,Clip up and put a rig on..... One bit of advice,if your going to spook them,do it with bait. Don't worry so much about depth. Catty some bait out,find what your fishing over and go for it.