Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Hi everyone, I am looking at going fishing with my 6 year old son and have been gathering up tackle over the past week or so and wondered what else I will require? I am relatively new to fish but did go a few times about 10 years a go. I tried various styles of fishing including going for pike, smaller fish and carp and found I only enjoyed carp fishing more specifically fishing on the bottom/top rather than float fishing. I plan on just doing a few day waters in my local area (Burton on Trent, Staffordshire) for now to see how I/we get on

The items I have so far are:-

2 rods (1 set up when I purchased it as pictured, is that alright?)

2 reels

Some hair rigs

Bait needles

Landing net

Rod bag

Box seat

Some hooks

Scales

Sling

Unhooking mat

Day shelter

Some bait but will get more when I know where I will be fishing.

When it comes to setting up a rod/line it seems there are so many different ways, is there 1 way that will do for now while I learn as much as I can?

Any help or advice would be really appreciated and I am looking forward to using the forum some more and of course to catching some carp.

Thanks, PandA

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

27 minutes ago, PandA698 said:

Hi everyone, I am looking at going fishing with my 6 year old son and have been gathering up tackle over the past week or so and wondered what else I will require? I am relatively new to fish but did go a few times about 10 years a go. I tried various styles of fishing including going for pike, smaller fish and carp and found I only enjoyed carp fishing more specifically fishing on the bottom/top rather than float fishing. I plan on just doing a few day waters in my local area (Burton on Trent, Staffordshire) for now to see how I/we get on

The items I have so far are:-