Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
W00dy7

a Question about resevoirs

Hi, relative noob here...

I want to go fishing at my local resevoir and have been looking at videos where people survey the bottom for various features i.e gravel beds, silt etc. my question is can this be done once and make a map of the bed or does it change dramatically?

Woody

Hello Woody

I can't see that once you have your map the features you find would change that dramatically , that quickly .

Maybe if the reservoir is surrounded by trees which prevent a good airflow it might start to silt up over time ? .

😃

17 hours ago, W00dy7 said:

my question is can this be done once and make a map of the bed or does it change dramatically?

It's lake dependant buddy, weed growth and location of weed-beds can change big time from year to year. That said, on a res you shouldn't see much variation. Crucian is right, reservoirs do tend to be silty as they're normally quite old and well established.

On 14 April 2019 at 15:00, W00dy7 said:

Hi, relative noob here...

I want to go fishing at my local resevoir and have been looking at videos where people survey the bottom for various features i.e gravel beds, silt etc. my question is can this be done once and make a map of the bed or does it change dramatically?

Woody

Welcome to Carp.com.

Reservoirs come in various different types, from 'irrigation' reservoirs that farmers have, to blooming great damned valleys with massive depths. If you want to be pedantic, Redmire is or was a farm irrigation reservoir, that carp were stocked in to keep the weed down.

The underwater contours can change a great deal, and in a short space of time, or they can be gently sloping banks down to the depths.

Some reservoirs have inflow streams, others may have water piped in, or both.