Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Sign in to follow this  
grahamha

Best ways of playing carp?

hey i'm new to carping and am wondering what are the best ways of playing carp? should you be aiming to bring the carp to the surface of the water or keep them down? keep the rod tip as high as possible? and how tight should the drag be set?

sorry if it's a stupid question or has already been covered but i couldn't find anything when i did a search.

pearsonaly i keep the rod tip fairly high but not two high and i reel and lower the rod and the stop reeling and raise the rod and so on...

never have the drag set to hard.

Hi mate,

There seem to be a few theories regarding playing times bandying around the forum at the moment, however, there is no set way to do it, it just comes with experience. You don't want to bully the fish, hauling it in and causing undue stress and potential damage from it going mental on the bank. On the other hand however, playing a fish out for way too long can also cause harm to the fish through tiring it excessively.

Keeping the rod tip high can be a good idea near the end of the fight, when the carp is closer in, as I've found it helps to absorb any lunges that may occur.

As for the clutch, once again it comes down to personal preference. I like to back-wind whilst playing, with the clutch set to give line on any sudden lunges to avoid hook-pulls etc.

I hope that helps, but as with the vast majority of angling there is no set black and white method of playing fish, and of course practice makes perfect!

Andy

I often make reference to using your arm and rod, when playing a fish, being similar to the suspension on a bike or car....it comes with experience, but try and use your arm to cusion any movements of the fish, you can feel the fish and what it is doing through your arm.